Steve Reich, "Music for 18 Musicians" – FULL PERFORMANCE with eighth blackbird

Music for 18 Musicians
by Steve Reich
Used with Permission by Hendon Music: An Imagem Company


February 5, 2011
Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago
Performance Produced by eighth blackbird
Filmed by Dan Nichols, Nichols Media


eighth blackbird
Tim Munro, flutes (piano and marimba for this performance)
Michael J. Maccaferri, clarinets
Matt Albert, violin
Nicholas Photinos, cello
Matthew Duvall, percussion
Lisa Kaplan, piano

Third Coast Percussion
Owen Clayton Condon, percussion
Robert Dillon, percussion
Peter Martin, percussion
David Skidmore, percussion

Meehan/Perkins Duo
Todd Meehan, percussion
Doug Perkins, percussion

Guest Artists
Sunshine Simmons, clarinets
Adam Marks, piano
Amy Briggs, piano
Amy Conn, soprano
Kirsten Hedegaard, soprano
Susan Nelson, soprano
Nina Heebinck, mezzo soprano

This performance was made possible through the generous support of 
The Elizabeth F. Cheney Foundation
Prince Charitable Trusts
The Illinois Arts Council
The City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs

For more great concert videos, subscribe to the Vic Firth YouTube Channel – or visit


Leave a Reply
  1. Modern composer diving down back to the primitive beginnings of human music: prehistoric women or men of religion bewitching the small tribe with ongoing monotonous drumming and flute playing (Only, Reich goes beyond flutes….)and singing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *